
LRG & RYC RECCOMMENDATIONS TO RUGBY COMMITTEE 
 

LAW CLARIFICATIONS RECOMMENDED TO BE BROUGHT INTO LAW 
 
Law Reference Union Request Designated members Ruling 
5 
TIME 

WRU The request for a Ruling arises from the ending of two recent 
international matches and is in relation to the way a restart takes 
place following the referee’s communication that it is to be the 
“last play” of the match.  
If the ball is kicked directly out on the full from the restart it 
should be left to the referee’s discretion to decide whether:  
          (a) If Law 10.2 (a) Intentionally Offending has occurred  
          (b) If Law 13.8 Kick offs/ Restarts has been fully complied 
                with.  
 

if there has been a score towards the end of the game and there is time for 
the kick off to take place but time will  
expire immediately after the kick and the kicker:  

• Does not kick the ball ten metres  
• Kicks the ball directly into touch  
• Kicks the ball dead on or over the opponents touch-in-goal or 

dead ball line  
 
The referee will offer the non-offending team the options provided by Law 
13.7, 13.8 and 13.9 respectively and the match continues until the ball next 
becomes dead. 

12 
KNOCK ON 

SARU Law 12, definition states, “a knock-on occurs when a player 
loses possession of the ball and it goes forward, or when a 
player hits the ball forward with hand or arm, or when the ball 
hits the hand or arm and goes forward, and the ball touches the 
ground or another player before the original player can catch it.” 
The law does not explicitly cover scenarios where the ball is 
knocked-out of the grasp of a ball carrier. 
 
We refer to ruling 4 of 2011 and believe the answer could come 
from this ruling. 
 
Concern is expressed that this type of play may affect the game 
going forward as the “tackle” will be down played and the 
slapping, knocking the ball out of the ball carrier’s grasp will 
prevail. 
 
However, for the sake of clarity and consistency of ruling by 
referees worldwide, in the following scenarios has a knock-on 
occurred? 
 

1. A ball carrier from team red runs with the ball in the 
direction of team blue goal line, a defender/tackler from 
team blue attempts to tackle from behind and makes 
contact with his hand on the ball. This action caused 
the ball to be lost “forward” from the ball carrier. The 
last contact on the ball was that of the defender before 

If a player in tackling an opponent makes contact with the ball and the ball 
goes forward from the ball carriers hands, that is a knock on. 
 
If a player rips the ball or deliberately knocks the ball from an opponent's 
hands and the ball goes forward from the ball carrier's hands, that is not a 
knock on. 
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it went forward. Is this a knock on by player red or a 
play on as the blue tackler knocked the ball back – 
similar to a rip, ruling 4 of 2011? 

2. Same scenario as above but the defender/tackler does 
not make contact with the ball but his action causes the 
ball carrier from team Blue to loose possession of the 
ball and it travels forward. Please confirm that this is 
knock-on. 

 
9.B.1 
TAKING A 
CONVERSION 
KICK 

RFU 
and 
SRU 

1. Who can or should inform the referee of the team’s 
decision to opt to take the conversion or not? Can 
anyone or must it be the captain, try scorer or 
conversion taker? Or any of the foregoing, bearing in 
mind that one of the foregoing individuals may be some 
distance from the referee and be inaudible? 

2. Are there any specific words or signal that must be 
used to indicate to the referee of the team’s decision as 
to whether they will take the conversion or restart play? 

3. In relation to the timing restriction on when a team can 
opt not to take the conversion and to instead restart 
play, what happens if there is a delay in the referee 
ruling that a try has been scored (i.e. if he is behind the 
player or the TMO is consulted) which results in the 
clock going past 0.00? 

Lastly, if the team chooses not to take the conversion do they 
have to be set to take the restart before the clock reaches 0.00 
and the hooter sounds? Or do the same principles apply 
regarding other restarts of play such as the lineout whereby the 
ball may go out of play before the clock reaches 0.00 and the 
lineout must still take place regardless of whether it has formed 
or not before 0.00? 

A try is not scored until awarded by the Referee. The decision not to take 
the conversion must be relayed by the try scorer to the referee, by saying 
“No Kick” after the award of the try and before the time reaches 00.00. In 
the event of the Referee utilizing the TMO then the clock will be stopped. 
 
Once the decision is made to forfeit the conversion the referee will award a 
kick off. The kick off will take place regardless of whether players were 
ready at 00.00 or not. 
 
Clarification 3 of 2014 confirms that the ruling above applies to Fifteens and 
Sevens. 

5 
TIME 

World 
Rugby  

Following controversy after the Scotland v Wales game 
regarding the decision by the referee to blow the whistle for the 
end of the match, we would like a clarification in Law. 
 Scenario 1 
A try is scored in the last minute of a game. The conversion is 
kicked and after the kick, there is between 5-10 seconds left on 
the clock, i.e. 79:50. 
  
Question: 
Does the referee allow for a restart to be made or does he blow 
the whistle for the end of the match, when the clock shows 80 

Scenario 1 
A team scoring a try near the end of the match may take the conversion 
kick or not. Providing they decline to take the kick or take the kick within the 
time remaining, a restart will occur and the match will end at the next 
stoppage within Law. Time is taken from the strike on the ball. 
 
In the specific query where the conversion was kicked at 79:50 then the 
referee should allow for a restart. 
 
Scenario 2 
The same logic applies, i.e. as long as the penalty kick is taken before 
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(i.e. 40 minutes)? There are a set of Law variations for Sevens 
which are different. In this specific case, why not consider the 
application of the Sevens variation which is clearer and could 
avoid such controversy? 
   
Law for fifteen-a-side:  
5.7 (e) “If time expires and the ball is not dead, or an awarded 
scrum or lineout has not been completed, the referee allows play 
to continue until the next time that the ball becomes dead. The 
ball becomes dead when the referee would have awarded a 
scrum, lineout, an option to the non-infringing team, drop out or 
after a conversion or successful penalty kick at goal. If a scrum 
has to be reset, the scrum has not been completed. If time 
expires and a mark, free kick or penalty kick is then awarded, 
the referee allows play to continue. 
(f) If time expires after a try has been scored the referee allows 
time for the conversion kick to be taken.” 
Variation for Seven-a-side – in practice:  
The team scoring a try within the last 40 seconds may however 
take the kick or not and, providing they decline the kick or take 
the kick with time remaining, a restart will occur and the match 
will end at the next stoppage within Law. Time is taken from the 
strike on the ball.   
 
Scenario 2 
Can the same logic be applied to a penalty award at the end of 
the game, e.g. what happens if a penalty is awarded at 79:50 
and the team wants to kick to touch and take a lineout?  
 

80:00 then the lineout will take place and the match will end at the next 
stoppage within Law. Time is taken from the strike on the ball. 

4 
PLAYERS 
CLOTHING 

FMRU The Federación Mexicana de Rugby seeks clarification on the 
interpretation of Law 4 and Regulation 12. 
Is it a requirement for a jersey to have sleeves?  
 

Jersey construction  
Each playing jersey shall be composed of structural sections which are 
combined in order to make up a full jersey. The sleeve of a jersey must 
extend at least half way from the shoulder point to the elbow.  
 
Jersey (construction guide with diagram reference)  

1. Collar area (collar does not need to conform to diagrammatical 
representation)  

2. Sleeve 
3. Sleeve bottom 
4. Shoulder Point 
5. Torso 
6. Chest 
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The onus is on Unions to comply with Law 4 and in turn ensure compliance 
by Clubs in their jurisdiction. Any Unions who have queries with respect to 
the compliance of jerseys intended to be used should submit a sample of 
such jersey sufficiently in advance of the proposed match date to World 
Rugby for review. Unions are strictly liable and may be sanctioned for a 
failure to comply with Law 4. 
 

19.4 (b) World 
Rugby 

Law 12.1 refers to Knock-on or throw forward into touch 
 
Law 19.4 (b) only references knock on 

When the ball goes into touch from a knock-on, the non-

offending team will be offered the choice of a lineout at the point 

the ball crossed the touch line; or a scrum at the place of the 

knock-on. The non-offending team may exercise this option by 

taking a quick throw-in. 
 

Amend 19.4 (b) to read 

When the ball goes into touch from a knock-on or throw forward , the non-

offending team will be offered the choice of a lineout at the point the ball 

crossed the touch line; or a scrum at the place of the knock-on. The non-

offending team may exercise this option by taking a quick throw-in. 
 

 


