There still seems to be some confusing regarding the MAUL. Please share this. Thank you!
When a maul goes to ground and is not deemed to be collapsed intentionally:
- There is no obligation for any players to release the ball or roll away.
- If the ball is available, play should continue. Availability would constitute that the referee can see the ball and the team in possession are in the process of recycling the ball.
- If the ball is not available, a scrum is awarded to the team that did not have possession of the ball at the commencement of the maul.
High Performance Referee Manager | USA Rugby